Tag Archive for Boy-Scouts

Awards & Programs for Boy Scouts

All religious courseware and programs are prescribed by the various religious institutions that have chosen to develop them. The programs are not created or maintained by the Boy Scouts. BSA simply approves the program structure and provides a method of recognition via the Uniform Knots for Scouts and Adults.

Religious study programs that are designed for 6th thru 12th grade youth can be recognized with the Boy Scout-specific metal ‘device’ (pin) is available for the Purple Scout Religous Knot, BSA part number 05007, and the respective Boy Scout, Varsity, Venture or Sea Scout pins.

Depending on the scout’s faith, they have options such as:

Roman Catholic Parvuli Dei 3rd, 4th and 5th grade
Christian Protestent God & Family 4th and 5th grade
Islamic Bismillah 4th and 5th grade
Jewish Aleph 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th

While a formal religious activity is not required for rank advancement, having a healthy faith is a mandate for each scout that can be examined during the Board of Review or Scoutmaster Conferences, based on how the scout is “Living the Scout Oath and Law” (which is expressly defined).

See also the Boy Scout Oath and Law.

If you know of other resources related Religious Programs, Awards or Rank Advancements, please let us know !


%d bloggers like this: