Awards & Programs for Webelos Cubs

All religious courseware and programs are prescribed by the various religious institutions that have chosen to develop them. The programs are not created or maintained by the Boy Scouts. BSA simply approves the program structure and provides a method of recognition via the Uniform Knots for Scouts and Adults.

Religious study programs that are designed for 4th and 5th grade youth can be used to satisfy the rank requirements for Webelos.

A Cub Scout-specific metal ‘device’ (pin # 932) is available for the Purple Scout Religous Knot, BSA part number 05007

Depending on the scout’s faith, they have options such as:

Roman Catholic Parvuli Dei 3rd, 4th and 5th grade
Christian Protestent God & Family 4th and 5th grade
Islamic Bismillah 4th and 5th grade
Jewish Aleph 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th

To complete the WEBELOS RANK, the scout must do requirement 8 (Faith).

Faith After completing the rest of requirement 8, do these (a, b, and c):

  1. Know: Tell what you have learned about faith.
  2. Commit: Tell how these faith experiences help you live your duty to God. Name one faith practice that you will continue to do in the future.
  3. Practice: After doing these requirements, tell what you have learned about your beliefs.

And do one of these (d OR e):

  1. Earn the religious emblem of your faith*  (earn the purple knot above)
  2. Do two of these:
  • Attend the mosque, church, synagogue, temple, or other religious organization of your choice, talk with your religious leader about your beliefs. Tell your family and your Webelos den leader what you learned.
  • Discuss with your family and Webelos den leader how your religious beliefs fit in with the Scout Oath and Scout Law, and what character-building traits your religious beliefs have in common with the Scout Oath and Scout Law.
  • With your religious leader, discuss and make a plan to do two things you think will help you draw nearer to God. Do these things for a month.
  • For at least a month, pray or meditate reverently each day as taught by your family, and by your church, temple, mosque, synagogue, or religious group.
  • Under the direction of your religious leader, do an act of service for someone else. Talk about your service with your family and Webelos den leader. Tell them how it made you feel.
  • List at least two ways you believe you have lived according to your religious beliefs.

Guidance based on the BSA Webelos Handbook (2010 edition) – pages 49-51, 68-69.

*  Of notable mention in the BSA guidelines, if the scout earned their religious emblem (purple knot) as a Cub Scout, they must either earn the Webelos award or the activities of 8e.  Also, completing the activities of 8e does not qualify the scout to wear the religious emblem of their faith or a purple knot.

If you know of other resources related Religious Programs, Awards or Rank Advancements, please let us know !


One comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: